Reality TV

I think we can all agree you either love it, hate it or just don’t get it. I fall mostly into the just don’t get it category with a pinch of this-is-the-start-of-civilization’s-downward-spiral-into-oblivion thrown in for good measure.  It’s nice to sit on my high horse and tsk tsk at all the misguided folks killing their brain cells off by the millions in 30 to 60 minute increments. I like feeling superior to the hoards who truly believe reality TV is, in fact, reality. I snicker when perusing the satellite guide at shows called: The Real Housewives (yeah, right) of (fill in the blank), and if that’s not bad enough, Beverly Hills Nannies. The plethora of shows is unending making it effortless to choose your particular poison. Shows like:  Teen Mom, Extreme Couponing, Mrs. Eastwood and Company (seriously, like they need the money!), Hardcore Pawn, Mobster Confessions (extremely unlikely!), Redneck Island and/or Redneck Vacations, and what has to be the worst Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.

Ah, if only I could shine up my halo, purse my lips and shake my finger at the mindless masses but unfortunately I have to confess that I am a hypocrite. No, say it ain’t so you mock but sadly I am addicted to The Bachelor, The Bachelorette and The Bachelor Pad. The drama, the crying, the romance (pardon me while I gag) but I can’t help it! It’s so compelling, so exciting, so . . .   so. . . real!

I guess this means my credibility, my integrity, my morals have been flushed down the proverbial toilet of broken principles, standards and ideals . . . Oh well, seeing as how the elections are coming up I think I’m in good company. Besides, that’s one reality show I think we can all agree is totally fake!

(By the by, did you notice how I used cool word plethora and not in a pompous way at all . . .)

Leave a Reply

