Horizontal Snow

I woke up this morning, stretched, stumbled to the window, pulled back the curtain and what did my disbelieving eyes see? Yep, horizontal snow!  For those of you not from Minnesota, North Dakota or any place else where snow and wind dance in weird, chaotic combinations, horizontal snow means that the snow, while coming down from the sky, gets blown around so ferociously by the wind it appears to be snowing, well, horizontally.  This is not good.  It means not only is it cold enough to snow but the wind is howling so brutally, all you can do is crawl back into bed, pull the covers over your head and snuggle in for the duration.  Which actually doesn’t sound so terrible!

Snow is really not so bad and I have no business being too shocked living where I do, but it was eighty degrees two days ago! And today, right at this moment, it’s thirty-six degrees!  I would be alright with this except now the beautiful, crunchy carpet of fall leaves has mutated into a slushy quagmire of mush.  I guess that’s just the circle of life, or whatever, but I’m grabbing a handful of chocolate chip cookies and holing up in my warm, comfy bed. . . Wake me when it’s spring.

One thought on “Horizontal Snow

  1. You know, one of the BIG reasons I left a cold country to try my luck in an island paradise was because my bed was seriously moulding to my body for the 8 or so winter-ish months. It was harder and harder to leave the damn thing. Enjoy your hibernation!

Leave a Reply

