EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT . . . GOD (Part 1)

So I had this idea to start a segment called, Everything You Need To Know About . . . Whatever. As you can see, I thought it would be good idea to start with God instead of something easy like, Everything You Need To Know About Making Excellent Chocolate Chip Cookies. Which is as follows: Use dark brown sugar. Don’t use white sugar at all. Whatever the recipe calls for in regards to sugar, just use the dark brown.

Three sentences and I’d have been done. But no, a few weeks ago in the dark of night when I was trying to sleep, my mind starts spewing out all this stuff about God. I’m not saying any sort of divine/cosmic occurrence was going on and I heard the voice of the Almighty because if that really had happened I assure you, I’d have a lot worse than a head of white hair from the shock. I’m just not equipped to deal with that kind of revelation and quite frankly, I don’t want it― too much responsibility and way too scary.

That being said, I lay awake for an hour and a half while my mind “wrote” and “re-wrote” and wouldn’t quit harassing me with all the things that could be said on this topic. Finally, I dragged myself out of bed, got a notebook and pen, went into the bathroom where the light wouldn’t wake my husband, and scribbled down as fast as I could all the stuff backing up in my head.

Once I purged myself of all the clamoring, I was finally able to fall asleep. I went about my daily life and kept telling myself I’d get right on that new blog segment but other things kept cropping up. The Bachelorette started a new season and even though I said I wasn’t going to let myself be seduced yet again by its tawdry and blatant manipulation of reality, I succumbed to temptation.

But it kept buzzing in my head and I haven’t slept well at all since. Then again, I never sleep well so it’s a bit disingenuous of me to blame it on my failure to follow through on what could be a divine assignment but which is more likely to be the consequence of eating too many frosting and M&M coated brownies.

I better start with a disclaimer: I am not in any way, shape or form an expert on theology, philosophy or any kind of spiritual/religious practices. I just spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about cosmic, God-related stuff. I guess I don’t know how much time other people spend thinking about this so maybe it really is just an ordinate amount of time. Here goes:

1. GOD LOVES YOU. There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING you can do that will separate you from God’s love. God will never abandon, forsake, or forget you. Even if you do not want His love, you have it. This may scare the heck out of some of you as a bunch of rules have been devised that contradict this truth and, let’s face it, some people are just too awful to deserve God’s love but nothing means NOTHING and if you can wrap your head around that you’re one step closer to understanding what God really is. . .

This list has only one item on it because too much information at once numbs the mind and it’s better to ponder just one idea at a time. As you can imagine, there is much more to be said on this subject and if you’re curious about what interesting/thought-provoking/hopefully-not-too-sacrilegious stuff will spew out of my mind, please stay tuned for more episodes. I can’t promise you will like or agree with everything I write and you can feel free to rail at me a bit but it will definitely make you think . . .

Leave a Reply

