GIVING HAPPY THANKS . . .

So I thought it would be a great idea to write about Thanksgiving being as it’s tomorrow and hence, a timely topic. But for the last fifteen minutes, I’ve been staring at the blank screen on my computer, and tapping my fingers on the keyboard in that impatient manner, hoping an original sentiment would pop into my head. I got nothing. There are no “original” words anyone can say on this or any topic ever again. All the good stuff was said, like, a thousand years ago. On the plus side, we humans have a short memory and an even shorter attention span, so I feel confident I can recycle all the old cliches and no one will ever know.

Thanksgiving is generally accepted to be the annual celebration of the Pilgrims’ first harvest in the “New World”. The Pilgrims arrived in North America with, quite frankly, no clue about what they were getting into. Fortunately for them, the locals, known as the Wampanoags, showed these foreign folks the ropes and they didn’t starve to death. In hindsight, the Wampanoags probably wished they had minded their own business and it is important for us to remember, and be thankful for, their generosity.

In a nutshell, Thanksgiving is about gratitude. A simple concept really so here are some thoughts to ponder when giving thanks for what you have been given:

1. Turkey is good. Potatoes are good. Wine is good. Anything with pumpkin is good. Enjoy your feast! Just remember, there are people around you that don’t have this luxury so give a few dollars to the food bank and be thankful that you can.

2. When you look back on your life, you will never say, “Dang, I wish I had gone to that Thanksgiving day sale back in 2014 and got that (fill in the blank) for only $(really cheap) because even though I can’t remember what it was, I’m sure it would have changed the course of my life.”

3. Family is family. Try not to let them drive you nuts because when push comes to shove, they will lay down their lives for you.
A. Genes do not always define a family.

4. Everyone wants the same things― love and happiness. Not everyone defines these in the same way. Be thankful you live in a country where that is okay.

5. There will always be someone richer, better looking, more talented, smarter, luckier, and braver than you. But you are also richer, better looking, more talented, smarter, luckier and braver than someone. Embrace yourself and cut yourself some slack.

6. Happiness is a choice. Happiness is a choice. Happiness is a choice. Let me be clear, happiness is a choice. Choose. To. Be. Happy.
A. Happy people still have problems, they just don’t let them define their lives.

This Thanksgiving, I am so grateful I get to spend the day with my wonderful family. Some of them are not able to join us and I will miss them. But our hearts bind us together and even though we are apart, we are always together. I am also so thankful that I have a nice home, a great job, enough food, a car, clothes, books, and this blog. But mostly I am thankful for all the beautiful, kind, funny, and loving people in my life. I cannot imagine life without you, and I thank God every day for each and every one of you!

Oh, and brownies. . .

2 thoughts on “GIVING HAPPY THANKS . . .

Leave a Reply

